23_okt_blog

FAMILY FUN AT THE 2016-2017 THE GALILEO OPEN AIR CINEMA

The Galileo is all about providing a special, fun experience for the whole family. During the school holidays, make sure you don’t miss out on the magical movie line-up created especially for little ones!  From The Lion King at Century City to Toy Story at Kelvin Grove, there’s a super screening happening almost every night of the week at various venues around the Mother City. Doors open at 6pm, and there’ll be a food and drinks market, games, live music and more to keep the family entertained until the sun sets and the movie begins.

A particularly new addition to this years movie fiesta is the Family Sundays at Kelvin Grove, which takes place over the school holidays. On these magical afternoons of sensational cinema, the doors will open at 4pm.

Here’s what The Galileo founder Huenu Solsona had to say, “I’m passionate about creating super awesome experiences that are different and that leave you feeling positive. I want to leave my mark in the sense that I think we can all do something for the greater good.”

Appropriately enough, it was a similar to-do in snowy Whistler, Canada that left its mark on Huenu and inspired her to start The Galileo. Back in North America she and her friends would visit the outdoor cinema regularly and “freeze their asses off, but love every minute of it”. We’re so glad that this icy adventure inspired her to bring The Galileo to our shores.

2016-10-23_2047

THE LINE-UP FOR THE 2016-2017 THE GALILEO OPEN AIR CINEMA

Date Movie Venue
Mon, 31 Oct A Nightmare on Elm Street Kirstenbosch
Tue, 1 Nov Dirty Dancing Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 2 Nov About Time Kirstenbosch
Thu, 3 Nov The Campaign V&A Waterfront
Fri, 4 Nov Rock of Ages The Castle
Sat, 5 Nov Grease Lourensford Wine Estate
Tues, 8 Nov Mean Girls Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 9 Nov The Godfather Kirstenbosch
Thu, 10 Nov The Proposal V&A Waterfront
Fri, 11 Nov Avatar Century City
Tue, 15 Nov World War Z Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 16 Nov Mamma Mia! Kirstenbosch
Thu, 17 Nov Eat, Pray, Love V&A Waterfront
Fri, 18 Nov The Great Gatsby Fedisa
Sat, 19 Nov Breakfast at Tiffany’s Nederburg Wines
Tue, 22 Nov Notting Hill Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 23 Nov I Am Kirstenbosch
Thu, 24 Nov Troy V&A Waterfront
Fri, 25 Nov Top Gun Meerendal Wine Estate
Tue, 29 Nov The Fault In Our Stars Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 30 Nov Lucy Kirstenbosch
Thu, 1 Dec The Conjuring V&A Waterfront
Fri, 2 Dec The Notebook The Castle
Sat, 3 Dec Finding Nemo Muldersvlei Estate
Tue, 6 Dec The Fast And The Furious Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 7 Dec Amelie Kirstenbosch
Thu, 8 Dec View From A Blue Moon V&A Waterfront
Fri, 9 Dec The Lion King Century City
Sun, 11 Dec Frozen Kelvin Grove
Tue, 13 Dec The Avengers Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 14 Dec Crocodile Dundee Kirstenbosch
Thu, 15 Dec Snatch V&A Waterfront
Fri, 16 Dec The Social Network Fedisa
Sat, 17 Dec Pretty Woman Uitkyk Wine Estate
Sun, 18 Dec The Jungle Book (2016) Kelvin Grove
Tue, 20 Dec Grease Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 21 Dec The Holiday Kirstenbosch
Thu, 22 Dec Home Alone V&A Waterfront
Fri, 23 Dec Love Actually Meerendal Wine Estate
Sun, 25 Dec Elf Kirstenbosch
Tue, 27 Dec Kung Fu Panda Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 28 Dec Spud Kirstenbosch
Thu, 29 Dec The Hobbit: The Unexpected Journey V&A Waterfront
Fri, 30 Dec Almost Famous Noordhoek Common
Tue, 3 Jan Armageddon Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 4 Jan Charlie’s Angels Kirstenbosch
Thu, 5 Jan Twilight V&A Waterfront
Fri, 6 Jan Everest The Castle
Sat, 7 Jan Mamma Mia! Boschendal
Sun, 8 Jan Toy Story Kelvin Grove
Tue, 10 Jan Pearl Harbour Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 11 Jan Boyhood Kirstenbosch
Thu, 12 Jan The Matrix Reloaded V&A Waterfront
Fri, 13 Jan The Grand Budapest Hotel Century City
Tue, 17 Jan Bad Movie Night: Sharknado Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 18 Jan Reel Rock 11 Kirstenbosch
Thu, 19 Jan 500 Days of Summer V&A Waterfront
Fri, 20 Jan Scream Fedisa
Sat, 21 Jan 50 First Dates Blaauwklippen Wine Estate
Tue, 24 Jan Knocked Up Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 25 Jan Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Kirstenbosch
Thu, 26 Jan Birdman V&A Waterfront
Fri, 27 Jan Dirty Dancing Meerendal Wine Estate
Tue, 31 Jan Single White Female Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 1 Feb Reality Bites Kirstenbosch
Thu, 2 Feb The Armstrong Lie V&A Waterfront
Fri, 3 Feb Pretty Woman The Castle
Sat, 4 Feb Interstellar Rustenberg Wines
Tue, 7 Feb The Vow Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 8 Feb Bridget Jones’ Diary Kirstenbosch
Thu, 9 Feb 10 Things I Hate About You V&A Waterfront
Fri, 10 Feb The Notebook Century City
Tue, 14 Feb When Harry Met Sally Nooitgedacht Estate
Wed, 15 Feb Fifty Shades Of Grey Kirstenbosch
Thu, 16 Feb Valkyrie V&A Waterfront
Fri, 17 Feb Ferris Bueller’s Day Off Fedisa
Sat, 18 Feb He’s Just Not That Into You Allee Bleue Estate
Tue, 21 Feb The Ring Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 22 Feb Winter’s Tale Kirstenbosch
Thu, 23 Feb Office Space V&A Waterfront
Fri, 24 Feb Jurassic Park Meerendal Wine Estate
Tue, 28 Feb How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 1 Mar Blue Crush Kirstenbosch
Thu, 2 Mar The Wizard Of Oz V&A Waterfront
Fri, 3 Mar The Shawshank Redemption The Castle
Sat, 4 Mar The Grand Budapest Hotel Rhebokskloof Wine Farm
Tue, 7 Mar The Boat That Rocked Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 8 Mar Step Brothers Kirstenbosch
Thu, 9 Mar Gone Girl V&A Waterfront
Fri, 10 Mar The Dark Knight Century City
Tue, 14 Mar The Theory of Everything Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 15 Mar Grease Kirstenbosch
Thu, 16 Mar Frida V&A Waterfront
Fri, 17 Mar The Wolf Of Wall Street Fedisa
Sat, 18 Mar Dirty Dancing Warwick Wine Estate
Tue, 21 Mar Fight Club Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 22 Mar The Omen Kirstenbosch
Thu, 23 Mar The Sound Of Music V&A Waterfront
Fri, 24 Mar The Hangover Meerendal Wine Estate
Tue, 28 Mar Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 29 Mar Trails In Motion MTB Film Festival Kirstenbosch
Thu, 30 Mar Star Wars: The Force Awakens V&A Waterfront
Fri, 31 Mar 300 Noordhoek Common
Sat, 1 Apr Life Of Pi Anthonij Rupert Wines
Sun, 2 Apr The Lego Movie Kelvin Grove
Tue, 4 Apr E.T. Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 5 Apr Inside Out Kirstenbosch
Thu, 6 Apr The Pursuit Of Happyness V&A Waterfront
Fri, 7 Apr Maleficent The Castle
Sun, 9 Apr Ice Age Kelvin Grove
Tue, 11 Apr He’s Just Not That Into You Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 12 Apr Back To The Future II Kirstenbosch
Thu, 13 Apr Breakfast At Tiffany’s V&A Waterfront
Fri, 14 Apr Vacation Century City
Sat, 15 Apr Love Actually Vergenoegd Wine Estate
Sun, 16 Apr The Never Ending Story Kelvin Grove
Tue, 18 Apr Mamma Mia! Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 19 Apr Earthlings Kirstenbosch
Thu, 20 Apr Her V&A Waterfront
Fri, 21 Apr The Hunger Games Fedisa
Tue, 25 Apr Pitch Perfect Hillcrest Quarry
Wed, 26 Apr Into The Wild Kirstenbosch
Thu, 27 Apr American Sniper V&A Waterfront
Fri, 28 Apr Titanic Meerendal Wine Estate
Sat, 29 Apr Pride & Prejudice Knorhoek Wine Estate

 

TICKETS FOR THE GALILEO OPEN AIR CINEMA 

Tickets for the entire season of programming at each venue are now on sale and can be purchased online via TheGalileo.co.za, and they range from R79p/p to R159p/p in price. Do note that if a show sells out online, no tickets will be available at the door. Space is limited, so book early to avoid disappointment. Gift vouchers are also available via the site.

Please note that from Tuesdays to Fridays, doors open at 6pm. On Saturdays, doors open at 5pm and on Sundays, doors open at 4pm.